Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Google Workspace Directory Synchronization

This article describes instructions for Step 2: Configuring the Directory sync for automatic user provisioning.

Please ensure you have completed Step 1: How To Set Up Google Workspace SSO before proceeding. Google Workspace Directory Synchronization will not work without it

Prerequisites

To complete this setup, you must be an Administrator in your Google Workspace account with the following Read permissions:

  • Users
  • Groups
  • Group Members
  • Domains
  • Organization Units

Instructions for Google Workspace Sync Setup

1. Connect Your Account

  • Go to the Wizer Admin Panel and navigate to your SSO settings.

  • Click the Google Workspace tab.

  • Scroll down and click the Sign In With Google button.

  • On the Google consent screen, ensure all checkboxes are checked to grant the required permissions, then click Continue.


2. Verify and Configure

  1. You will be redirected back to the Wizer Admin panel. Click the Google Workspace panel, then select the Directory Sync tab.
  2. Under the Connected Account section, verify that the connected email matches your corporate Google Workspace administrator email.
  3. Click the Configure Synchronization button.

 

3. Configure Synchronization Details

Click the Configure Synchronization button, a menu will appear allowing you to choose your workspace scope, users, and the Wizer entities you wish to synchronize.


  1. Workspace Scope: Choose the Google Workspace domains you want to sync.
    • Specific Domains: Allows you to select exact domains from the provided dropdown.
    • All Domains: Syncs users across every domain in your workspace.
  2. User Synchronization: Choose how users are imported into Wizer.
    • Specific Groups : Sync users only from a designated set of groups selected from the dropdown.
    • All Users: Syncs everyone in your selected domains (except suspended/archived users).User Synchronization: Choose how users are imported into Wizer.
  3. Group Synchronization: Toggle Sync groups with Wizer to create and update Wizer groups directly from Google Workspace.
    • Select the specific groups you want to synchronize using the dropdown.

    ⚠️ Warning: Group assignments will be overwritten. If Wizer already has a group with the same name, its membership will be completely replaced by the Google Workspace data during synchronization.

  4. Department Synchronization: Toggle Sync departments with Wizer to automatically map Google Workspace departments to Wizer departments.

    🏢 Note on Departments: The Department field must be filled out accurately on the Google Workspace side for users to be assigned correctly in Wizer.

4. Test and Enable

  1. Once your filtering options are set, click Save & Test. (Note: This test can take several minutes depending on your directory size).
  2. Review the test results to ensure the user numbers look correct.
  3. Click Enable Synchronization.
  4. Once the actual synchronization finishes (which can take a few minutes), the status will change to "Active."

You can confirm the sync was successful by visiting the All Users page.

Note: If you have training assigned to your users, they will receive automated email notifications once synchronization is enabled. Automated syncs happen every 3–4 hours, but you can always force a sync by clicking Synchronize Now.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How do I notify users to start training?

Users receive automated notification emails once they are synchronized and training is assigned.

What happens if I manually delete/disable a user from Wizer?

If the user is still in the synchronization scope on Google's end, they will be added again or marked as active during the next synchronization.

What happens if synchronized users are deleted from the Google Workspace Directory?

The deleted Google Workspace users will be automatically disabled in Wizer.

What happens if users are marked as suspended or archived in Google Workspace?

Suspended or archived Google Workspace users will become disabled in Wizer.

What fields are synchronized with Wizer?

  • Email (Note: We do not support updating emails yet; addresses are propagated only when users are initially added to Wizer).
  • Department (if enabled)
  • Group (if enabled for that that group)
  • First Name
  • Last Name

Why are users not assigned to departments after synchronization?

Please verify on the Google Workspace side that the Department field is properly filled out for all users. Once verified, click Synchronize Now in the Wizer SSO Settings.

Why are users disabled/deactivated with every sync when they are active in our Google Workspace?

Please check your sync filters. During each sync cycle, any user who is not part of your assigned domains or groups will be disabled in Wizer.

I just enabled synchronization, and it is not working.

Please double-check all settings and wait 3–4 hours for the initial synchronization process to complete.

Departments and Groups are not showing up in the sync filter.

Please disconnect your Google account by clicking the disconnect button in the Wizer admin console. Then, re-add the account, ensuring that all required read permissions are selected during the Google consent screen.

I'm getting a 403 error with the message "app_not_configured_for_user."

  • SSO Validation: Ensure all values were accurately copied and pasted exactly as outlined in our Step 1 SSO documentation.
  • User Assignment: Verify that all users experiencing errors are correctly assigned to the Wizer App in Google Workspace.
  • App Creation Time: If the app was newly created in Google Workspace, a 24-hour wait period may be necessary due to Google's validation processes.
  • Troubleshooting: Determine if this is happening for all users or just a few.
  • Make sure the SSO certificate is not expired.

Need Help?

Any questions? Please feel free to contact our Support Team by emailing us at support@wizer-training.com.